Announcement of the Lionesses: Names revealed for England’s Women Football Team for Worldcup 2019

Women’s Football World Cup 2019

In the wake of Women’s Football World Cup 2019, England manager Phil Neville has elected a team “full of world-class players”. The World Cup will be hosted in France and will last from June 7 to July 17, 2019. England will begin its campaign against Scotland on Sunday, June 9. The team will allegedly also compete against 2011 champion’s team Japan and Argentina in the group stage. The manager also added that the team was put in a “really difficult group” and was expected to compete with “three dangerous teams”. England was placed third in 2015. The new team comprises of eleven World Cup debutantes, while veterans Fara Williams and Izzy Christiansen, who suffered an ankle injury in March have been delisted.

In a statement, Neville said, “We’ve got a squad that is highly motivated, that now has the confidence and belief to go to a World Cup to be successful. We keep saying it but the hard work starts now and we are going to give it everything we have to make the nation proud. ”

The Women’s Team will be led by Captain Steph Houghton. Reports allege that Karen Carney and Jill Scott will head the team to a fourth tournament. On the downside, Lyon midfielder Christiansen was left disappointed when other players made it to the team’s list and to impress Neville. About her selection, Neville expressed the following view, “She was devastated, as you can imagine…she’s sacrificed everything in her life to get to this point and the selection is purely on the performance of the other players that have taken their opportunities in midfield.”

The names of the squad were revealed via a series of media posts and celebrity videos of high profile supporters which included Prince William, David Beckham and Emma Watson. It was initiated in that way because they wanted each player to have a special moment through the announcement. The squad was revealed earlier on Wednesday.

Here is the list to the rest of the team players

Goalkeepers: Carly Telford (Chelsea), Mary Earps (Wolfsburg), Karen Bardsley (Man City).

Defenders: Abbie McManus (Man City), Alex Greenwood (Man Utd), Demi Stokes (Man City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Lucy Bronze (Lyon), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Steph Houghton (captain, Man City),

Midfielders: Georgia Stanway (Man City), Jade Moore (Reading), Jill Scott (Man City) Karen Carney (Chelsea), Keira Walsh (Man City), Lucy Staniforth (Birmingham City).

Forwards: Beth Mead (Arsenal), Ellen White (Birmingham City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jodie Taylor (Seattle Reign), Nikita Parris (Man City), Toni Duggan (Barcelona).